Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
May 16, 2021, 02:02:17 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: retro-link - your friendly all-inclusive retro EVERYTHING community

+  retro-link.com
|-+  General Category
| |-+  Off Topic
| | |-+  Just upgraded from Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Ultimate
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Just upgraded from Vista Home Premium to Windows 7 Ultimate  (Read 4293 times)
Paul
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 581



View Profile WWW
« on: November 14, 2009, 02:46:48 AM »

Just wanted to advise that this upgrade went very smoothly, flawlessly, and thus far has been well worthwhile.
Logged

"Life and death are of supreme importance. Time swiftly passes by and opportunity is lost. Each of us should strive to awaken. Awaken. Take heed, do not squander your life." - Dogen Zenji
RobertB
Founding Member
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2564



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2009, 08:36:13 AM »

     Heh, I just want to get the latest OS 4.1 update on my AmigaOne.  Smiley

                    Truly,
                    Robert Bernardo
                    Fresno Commodore User Group
                    http://videocam.net.au/fcug
                    The Other Group of Amigoids
                    http://www.calweb.com/~rabel1/
                    Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network
                    http://www.sccaners.org
Logged
Badders
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2009, 06:05:50 PM »

I've just upgraded my laptop from Windows 7 Ultimate to Ubuntu 9.10. Much better  Cheesy

Will be putting 3.1 ROMs into my A1200 at the weekend and installing a hard drive, so will be upgrading that to 3.1 lol

Pete.
Logged

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Paul
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 581



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2009, 07:33:40 PM »

Robert, I'm still running Workbench v1.3 and v2.04 on my Amiga 2000.  I've often considered upgrading.

Badders, I like Ubuntu a lot; unfortunately, there's too much specialized software I need for my career that is Windows-only for which there is no Linux alternative.  I have the space on my drive for a dual boot system, but I discovered a long time ago I really only have time to manage one operating system, and there really wasn't anything Linux could do for me that Windows couldn't.

Are you going to sell your Windows 7 license, or configure a dual boot system?
Logged

"Life and death are of supreme importance. Time swiftly passes by and opportunity is lost. Each of us should strive to awaken. Awaken. Take heed, do not squander your life." - Dogen Zenji
Badders
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: November 14, 2009, 08:43:07 PM »

I was using the evaluation version, downloaded from M$. I wanted to see how it compared to Vista and I was very impressed. Faster, less intrusive and what Vista should have been had they finished it before release.

The main reason I switched to Ubuntu on my laptop (my main machine is an iMac) is the constant AV updates, security scans, spyware software etc. etc. I just like to switch my computer on and use it. That'll be why I still use my C64 and Amiga  Grin

Pete.
Logged

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
RobertB
Founding Member
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2564



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: November 14, 2009, 09:25:54 PM »

Will be putting 3.1 ROMs into my A1200 at the weekend and installing a hard drive, so will be upgrading that to 3.1
     With at least 4 megs of RAM, you can go all the way up to OS 3.9.

                 Truly,
                 Robert Bernardo
                 Fresno Commodore User Group
                 http://videocam.net.au/fcug
                 The Other Group of Amigoids
                 http://www.calweb.com/~rabel1/
                 Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network
                 http://www.sccaners.org
Logged
Paul
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 581



View Profile WWW
« Reply #6 on: November 15, 2009, 07:33:28 AM »

Pete, did you know I got my first virus on an Amiga disk?  We used to swap disks each other.  I learned some good habits back then that I still use today; I haven't had a virus in years.

Robert, My A2000 has 8MB of RAM, a 4GB hard drive, and a 68010 processor.  You'd think with those specs, it'd be easier to get it on the internet. Huh
Logged

"Life and death are of supreme importance. Time swiftly passes by and opportunity is lost. Each of us should strive to awaken. Awaken. Take heed, do not squander your life." - Dogen Zenji
RobertB
Founding Member
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2564



View Profile WWW
« Reply #7 on: November 15, 2009, 01:38:28 PM »

Robert, My A2000 has 8MB of RAM, a 4GB hard drive, and a 68010 processor.  You'd think with those specs, it'd be easier to get it on the internet. Huh
     You can get onto the Internet with that one by using an Amiga term program and signing up with a shell account.  Text-browsing!
     By the by, if you upgrade to a 68020/30/40/60 card and put in the 3.1 ROMs, you can go to OS 3.1/3.5/3.9 and use graphical web browsers.

                   Truly,
                   Robert Bernardo
                   Fresno Commodore User Group
                   http://videocam.net.au/fcug
                   The Other Group of Amigoids
                   http://www.calweb.com/~rabel1/
                   Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network
                   http://www.sccaners.org
Logged
Paul
Administrator
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 581



View Profile WWW
« Reply #8 on: November 15, 2009, 10:19:45 PM »

I always felt the Amiga should have been the first computer to offer graphical browsing.  In the days of BBSes, I remember anyone with an Amiga running something like JR-COMM could connect to an Amiga-based BBS and see graphics with text on the screen.  It's kind of ironic that the machine that revolutionized multimedia and that was so ahead of the curve with graphics should be stuck with text-only browsing through a shell account these days.

Maybe I should look into doing some Amiga programming and see if I can do it justice.
Logged

"Life and death are of supreme importance. Time swiftly passes by and opportunity is lost. Each of us should strive to awaken. Awaken. Take heed, do not squander your life." - Dogen Zenji
RobertB
Founding Member
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2564



View Profile WWW
« Reply #9 on: November 16, 2009, 08:53:58 AM »

Maybe I should look into doing some Amiga programming and see if I can do it justice.
     If you can do better than A-Web, IBrowse, and Voyager graphical web browsers for the classic Amigas, then go for it.  It seems that all attention is being put into OWB and TimberWolf for Amiga OS 4.x machines.

               Truly,
               Robert Bernardo
               Fresno Commodore User Group
               http://videocam.net.au/fcug
               The Other Group of Amigoids
               http://www.calweb.com/~rabel1/
               Southern California Commodore & Amiga Network
               http://www.sccaners.org
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines web space for free online dating site hosting Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!