Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
January 15, 2021, 04:03:07 PM
Home Help Search Login Register
News: retro-link - your friendly all-inclusive retro EVERYTHING community

+  retro-link.com
|-+  Retro Computing
| |-+  Atari
| | |-+  Atari 8 bit computers
| | | |-+  Looking for 1010 for 800XL
« previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Looking for 1010 for 800XL  (Read 3517 times)
Badders
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



View Profile WWW
« on: May 04, 2009, 12:09:17 PM »

Hi,

Does anyone know where in the UK I can get a 1010 tape drive for my 800XL? The unit I have appears to be dead. I'll try and get it fixed locally so I have a spare.

I've tried the usual suspect (eBay) but they seem a tad expensive as usual.

Would a unit from the States work in the UK? I'm guessing it would using the power supply unit I have with my machine.

Cheers,

Pete.
Logged

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Rorshach
Administrator
Sr. Member
*****
Posts: 379



View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 04, 2009, 03:09:49 PM »

Hi Badders,

From what I can tell the 1010 was not region specific so one from another country should work as long as you switch the power supply like you said.  The power needed is 9Volts AC into the 1010 though I forgot the current requierment at the moment.  If you can narrow down the symptoms yours might be repairable. I know a couple places that are not too far here where I can check to see if they have any but both are used dealers of course so it can be hit or miss.
Logged
RobertB
Founding Member
Hero Member
*****
Posts: 2551



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2009, 03:17:17 AM »

Does anyone know where in the UK I can get a 1010 tape drive for my 800XL?
     Well, here in California, 4Jays supposedly has one for $20.  The webpage is old and so it is best to contact them first if you are interested.  The main site is

                          http://4jays.net

and the older webpage of theirs is at

                          http://www.4jays.com/atari8bit.html

                                         Truly,
                                         Robert Bernardo
                                         Fresno Commodore User Group
                                         http://videocam.net.au/fcug
                                         July 25-26 Commodore Vegas Expo - http://www.portcommodore.com/commvex
Logged
Badders
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2009, 09:04:11 AM »

Hi Badders,

From what I can tell the 1010 was not region specific so one from another country should work as long as you switch the power supply like you said.  The power needed is 9Volts AC into the 1010 though I forgot the current requierment at the moment.  If you can narrow down the symptoms yours might be repairable. I know a couple places that are not too far here where I can check to see if they have any but both are used dealers of course so it can be hit or miss.

The unit powers up (the red light comes on). Pressing play results in very slow turning of the spindle. Rewind and F.Forward don't work. I opened it up and discovered the large belt wasn't in place, so I put it back and tried it again. No difference, still no rewind or f.forward.

The unit itself is in as new condition, so I have no idea what could be the problem. It hasn't been dropped or damaged externally, and aside from the belt being off when I first opened it, I can see nothing obviously wrong internally.

Cheers,

Pete.
Logged

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Badders
Newbie
*
Posts: 36



View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: May 05, 2009, 09:08:53 AM »

     Well, here in California, 4Jays supposedly has one for $20.  The webpage is old and so it is best to contact them first if you are interested.  The main site is

                          http://4jays.net

Thanks, Robert. I have emailed them.

Cheers,

Pete.
Logged

There are 10 types of people in the world, those who understand binary, and those who don't.
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  


Login with username, password and session length

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.21 | SMF © 2006-2008, Simple Machines web space for free online dating site hosting Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!